RSS

Am I really good enough!

28 Aug
Zharnai and Zakari's Christening Cake

My first real attempt at decorating a cake

OOOhhh! Ok, let me begin!

I come from a background of really good Caribbean cooks and bakers. It is their food and fusion of flavours that has helped develop my passion and appreciation of food. Hopefully I too am a good cook, I pray that I have inherited their technical prowess and it hasn’t skipped a generation.

Recently, I was asked by my mother to decorate a cake for a family function (a christening). Now, it’s great that my mother actually believes in me, but I am hardly the worlds best cake decorator. Nonetheless, I was still very much excited and agreed to do it, but as my first foray into royal icing and marzipan did not go so well, I did experience a spot of self doubt.

All doubts aside, I asked my grandmother for a royal icing recipe and away I was!

Here is my first real attempt, not perfect, but it was well received.

Let me know your thoughts:

In Progress

Why is it still lumpy???

 

Here is the Royal Icing recipe that I used.

2 Egg Whites

1/2 tsp lime juice ( I actually used a little more.  Alternatively, I am sure that you could use lemon juice)

675g Royal Icing Sugar (Guide amount, I actually used 2 boxes)

1tsp Glycerine to stop the icing becoming rock hard

1tsp Almond Essence

This is just a guide, you could add or omit according to your own taste buds.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2010 in Cake Decorating, Celebrations

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Am I really good enough!

  1. Chid Okeke

    August 30, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    That’s pretty hot! Keep it coming 😀

     
  2. missnessalovesfood

    August 30, 2010 at 11:25 am

    Thanks everyone for the comments, I really appreciate it.

    To Iola Iola, I will post other recipes on here too, so keep checking back.

     
  3. Sugar Monster

    August 29, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    I wish I coulda tried it. MMMM

     
  4. Iola Iola

    August 29, 2010 at 11:01 am

    Lovely cakes, Miss Nessa. Great first attempt…a few more tries and you’ll be perfect! 🙂 Thanks also for sharing the recipe 😉

     
  5. Dwayne

    August 28, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    Easy cousin check you out!!!

     
  6. Anonymous

    August 28, 2010 at 6:02 pm

     

Leave a comment